Buttermilk Crumb Muffins

This weeks’ regularly schedule recipe for Tuesdays with Dorie is Buttermilk Crumb Muffins.  Though I’m not certain, I believe I baked Marion Cunningham’s muffins once as many as eight or ten years ago, well prior to joining the blog group.  Although I baked this on Monday, a busy week-and-half of baking has me posting a day late.  Thankfully, this muffins are fairly quick and simple to make.  Professional baker and birthday girl Alisa of Easier Than Pie hosts this week; On her blog post, you will find the recipe, not too mention a professional’s perspective on baking and various ingredient substitutions.  Other bakers’ efforts are found here.

Speaking of ingredient substitutions, I was one of several people to use butter in place of shortening in this recipe.  It’s hard to say what the effect was on the finished muffins.  Flavor would seem to benefit from butter.  Anecdotal evidence from other bloggers indicates these muffins don’t quite rise as high as those made with shortening.  In my case I prepared a half recipe and ended up with 8 muffins — on the high end of what the recipe yields.  My muffins didn’t dome, though had I portioned the batter into 7, the extra bit of batter per muffin might have produced more traditional-looking muffin tops.

Looks aside, this muffins are decent, though not great.  They are a little sweet as muffins go.  And they lack a certain something that might knock them out of the park.  Small chunks of fruit might improve them.  Apples come to mind, although I’d want to cut back the sugar with such an addition.  Unless I had a specific request though, I’m much more likely to make banana bread or muffin before baking these again.

In keeping with these muffins simple preparation, I took fewer photos; all I really have to show is a plate full of finished muffins.

This entry was posted in BakingWithJulia, Breakfast, TuesdaysWithDorie. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Buttermilk Crumb Muffins

  1. barbaramais says:

    Are the recipes ever included with your posts? What about some kind of nuts in the muffin or topping?

Leave a Reply

