Oasis Naan

For this week’s recipe, I took my show on the road to Long Beach during an extended visit with family.  Although I brought my stand mixer, I did not bring the dough hook, anticipating a bit of old-fashioned kneading.  After the experience, I’ll return to my usual practice of letting the mixer do most of the kneading, finishing up the last minute or two by hand.

In all it seemed like I used well in excess of 6 cups of flour, about 5 cups to start with, followed by as much as 2 cups while kneading; the dough continued to absorb flour and return to a sticky state.  After a good 12 minutes of kneading, with some short rests in between, I had a nicely structured dough.  Post-rise I divided the dough in eight, and covered it with plastic wrap as I prepared to shape the naan

I embellished the naan with chives and sesame seeds rather than scallion.  The chives are a little mild; I might be convinced to try their bigger brother next time.  Upon baking, though, these naan were much thicker and puffier than any I’ve had in Indian or Pakistani restaurants.  For the final baked piece, I stretched the dough twice as large as the 5″-6″ round called for.

I served the naan along with some pre-made Indian and Near Eastern fare courtesy of Trader Joes.  Originally I wanted to get take-out from an excellent Pakistani restaurant in nearby Buena Park, or perhaps cook something from scratch, but kept it simple this time.  The plate below consisted of a cool garbanzo “salad” called Balela, Chicken Tikka with basmati rice, eggplant, and an unseen yogurt dip.

This entry was posted in BakingWithJulia, TuesdaysWithDorie. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Oasis Naan

  1. Auntie M says:

    Looks good….I have a boatload of chives. Wish I could give you some. Could I send them through the mail or might they be confiscated as “contraband”? THe meal sounds YUM! We have some authentic Indian restaurants but no Pakistani. Hope you enjoyed the visit with the fam.

  2. oven chaos says:

    Wow, you brought along your stand mixer – this is pure dedication! I made the dough by hand I ended up using around 5.5 cups in total. The chives looks pretty on the bread.

    • Paul says:

      I brought it but didn’t use it for the naan. I knew I’d need it for the genoise, which I thought I’d also be making in Southern California.

  3. Alice says:

    what a great spread you put together! 🙂

  4. Jan Nilsen says:

    I agree about the naan being thicker than in Indian restaurants. The first one I baked puffed up like a loaf of bread– the next ones came out better.
    I enjoyed reading your previous post on Shortbread and Whole Foods-made me laugh!

  5. Cher says:

    I love that you brought your mixer on vacation with you. I would probably get lynched if I took up valuable car space with one 🙂

  6. barbara mais says:

    tastee for those who enjoy eating

Leave a Reply

