Lemon Loaf Cake

Learning from my experience with Pizza Rustica, I decided to read through some of the TWD chatter, to see what lessons I might draw from other bakers’ experience.  A few noted that these Lemon Loaf Cakes (or is it Lemon Loaves Cake, like Attorneys General ?) were quite subtly flavored.  I resolved to try and address that through some addition or modification of the recipe.

I thought of some of the flavors I like with lemon, and raspberries came to mind.  So I figured I would attempt a sort of raspberry layer in amidst the cake.  I figured whole raspberries would sink to the bottom of the pan, so I thought of a puree, lightened with cake batter to bring it more in line with the surrounding cake.

So I made a mixture of defrosted and drained frozen raspberries and raspberry preserves.  I took a half-cup of the berry mixture and folded it into a half-cup of reserved cake batter.  When filling the pan, I poured about two-thirds of the remaining batter into the prepared pan, floated the berry-batter mixture over it in the center, then topped it off with the remaining one-third of the cake batter.

To put it mildly, my scheme worked out better in theory than practice, as evidenced by this photo of the cut and cooled loaf.

It turns out a better way to incorporate the raspberries was to plate a few slices with the berry sauce and a dollop of whipped cream.

Still having the imbedded raspberry stripe would have been nice for portability.  In the end, were I to make this recipe again, I’d probably stick to a no frills version, though I’d be tempted to double the amount of lemon zest, as this was the only source of lemon flavor.

This entry was posted in BakingWithJulia, TuesdaysWithDorie. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lemon Loaf Cake

  1. Marilyn Freese says:

    Yum! Who gets to eat the results? Wish I lived closer! You are some cooker, Paul. Love, am

  2. Cher says:

    You get extra points for trying – even if it didn’t work out the way you intended. Raspberries & lemon are always a good idea…

  3. mikejdunlap says:

    Hey – great idea! There must be a way for that to work….. at any rate, it’s a great-looking loaf. And a winning combination raspberries and lemon are always a hit!

  4. Good for you for trying something different. It would have been nice if it had worked. The cake really did need something to jazz it up.

  5. Paul says:

    I’m not sure when I’ll make this cake again. I think the easiest way to amplify the flavor would be to go the glaze route… probably something heavy on lemon juice. Since the raspberry-cake batter mix sank, it might work better by laying a little over half the batter down, baking it for 15-20 minutes, and then adding the berry mixture topped by the remaining cake batter. Even without these additions, I’d probably double the amount of lemon zest and consider pulsing it with the sugar as one TWD baker suggested.

  6. I was thinking about that too for your recipe. People have been talking about the Hungarian Shortbread and how they are cooking the bottom part first and then putting the jam and top batter on afterwards. I would be interested in hearing the results if you decide to try it. There has to be a way to make it work.

Leave a Reply

