Irish Soda Bread

Having missed the last outing due to an extended work trip, I realize it’s been almost a month since I baked or posted anything for Tuesdays With Dorie.  I do plan on making Rugelach soon, though I need to do so when there’s more than just me to eat them.

Irish Soda Bread has to be one of the quickest recipes in all of Baking With Julia.  Having never made it before, but remembering a stale loaf from a friend of my grandmother, I wasn’t really looking forward to eating this.  It turns out it makes a lot better eating when fresh, and it’s very doable to make only half the recipe since it can be formed freeform on a cookie sheet.  I also cheated slightly by incorporating 1/2 tsp. baking powder (actually 1/4 tsp. since I was making half a batch), in order to get a little more lift out of the bread.

Here’s the loaf out of the oven:

And here with sliced open to show the rather fine crumb/texture:

This entry was posted in BakingWithJulia, TuesdaysWithDorie. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Irish Soda Bread

  1. I agree…totally easy! Your pictures are nice 🙂

  2. Julia says:

    Also save the rugelach for when you have time. That recipe is easy but long.

  3. Teresa says:

    Nice job. This actually keeps and freezes pretty well.

  4. Cher says:

    This was easy (and easy to scale). The lemon loaf scheduled for the 2nd half of April was crazy easy too (not as easy as this, but still…)
    Looks good.

Leave a Reply

