Chocolate Truffle Tarts

Like a lot of folks involved with Tuesdays With Dorie, I do a fair amount of cooking.  I first started making and baking sweets as a youngster, so I was especially looking forward to this week’s recipe.

I started with the tart dough on Friday evening.  It didn’t seem to come together well initially; a bit dry compared to other tart doughs I’ve made.  All that was forgotten when it came time to roll out as it performed nicely.  A good bench scraper is a must to reposition the dough every few rolls.

The filling almost couldn’t have been simpler.  I used a combination of 53% semi-sweet and 70% extra bittersweet, both from Callebaut.  As well as large baking disks of 38% milk chocolate from E.Guittard, and chunks of white chocolate cut from a block of Cacao El Rey.  I opted for amaretti cookies in place of the biscotti.

The smallest tart pans I have are about 6.5″ in diameter x .75″ high.  Since I only have two pans of that size, I prepared half of the recipe of filling, and used half of my chocolate tart dough.

Here are the filled, unbaked tarts ready to go into the oven.Filled, unbaked tart shells

After about 14 minutes in the oven, I let them cool, and snapped a photo of the nicer one.Single baked chocolate tart

When I make these again with the remaining dough, I suppose I’ll go all out with chocolate drizzle and quenelles of some frozen treat for a no-holds-barred presentation.

This entry was posted in BakingWithJulia, TuesdaysWithDorie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Truffle Tarts

  1. Jules says:

    Yum. And did I mention yum? That looks fabulous!

  2. Wendy says:

    I think both look nice. YUM!

  3. Cher says:

    Very nice. Quality chocolate definitely makes a difference in this one.

Leave a Reply

